The Blazing Sun: Racism Redefined

“Hey Ahmed! Can I please ask you something?”

“Sure Martin. Go ahead.”I replied.

And Martin asked. “Where are you from?”

Looking at Martin in a bit of confusion I told him that I was from Pakistan.

“Ah, too sad.” Martin sighed.

“Excuse me, what do you mean?” said I. I thought he was disturbed on knowing the country I was from. But guess what, he still asked me another question.

“But don’t you have another passport, may be from Australia, UK, US or Canada?”

“No Martin. I don’t. But why?” I was bewildered.

“This is the best place to work in. But only if you have a right passport.” Martin explained.

I didn’t really get that for the couple of days. But very quickly I learnt what Martin meant.

I knew that racism is the discrimination or intolerance of people of other races, but I learnt that people can be tolerant to other races, only if someone from the other race is ready to sacrifice its own culture, beliefs, heroes, attire and a bit of this and a lot of that. The best way a person can make this sacrifice and become part of the superior race is, by changing his nationality. Yes, the sacred passport. It defines and re-defines your pay scale, your living style, your respect, honor and esteem. It may also define if you deserve peace.

Well under the new belief system; racism is not always the color of your skin. It can be the color of your passport too.

I thought
Now I would be heard
Would be listened
Will be given
Will have the life
Will have the words to share
I can speak
Won’t be teased
Would be allowed
My words would be respected
You won’t laugh at me
My ideologies would be admired
Though I still thought you won’t believe me
But my mean temptation
Is in agony and search in vain
My self-respect has been crushed again!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Asad Imtiaz
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 20:10:34

    I guess racism comes in different shapes and sizes and you have encountered a new size 😉

    time to color your passport ?

    Reply

  2. Asma
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 20:56:34

    21 century era reality 🙂 BTW you put in nicely over here 😉 keep blogging (Y)

    Reply

  3. Sobia
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 20:12:04

    i guess racism and discrimination is there in every part of this world……but nicely written!!

    Reply

  4. M. Fareed arif
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 01:40:07

    A novel perspective to racism… Well written… 🙂

    Reply

  5. mekaal
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 14:51:54

    or is it? a foreign passport can only help u living in a foreign land, definitely you will just be ANY individual in Pakistan. so… basically to gain advantage of your new race u will be setteling in a new place. but most of us who chose to do so, the green passport has little value left to it as we have already been color blinded. i wont blame Martin for the way he looks at things, it’s us who have promoted this chameleon hue of ours’

    Reply

  6. M. Fareed Arif
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 11:17:09

    Mashallah….Ahmed Chanda, I’m impressed by your writing skills.. Try to take some lessons in book writing and write long stories… Who knows, may be worth publishing it as a book some point in time…:)

    Keeping doing well and make all of us proud on you…!!!

    Reply

    • Ahmed Malik
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 00:07:56

      Fareed bhai… you make me feel special… i don’t think i am that good a writer.. i just write for pleasure… but thank you so much for all that motivation.. and i take your suggestions very seriously 🙂

      Reply

  7. Naeem
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 22:25:13

    xinda baad… nice one… hope to read more from you…

    Reply

  8. WarmSunshine
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 20:14:58

    That’s sadly the case. I wish Pakistan would become a better place so we won’t have to leave our homeland. Nice write up, bhai 🙂 Something that should be brought to light.

    Reply

  9. kamig4u
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 02:58:58

    Nice one, bro. Yes we guys living outside Pakistan paying price of being Pakistani b/c our leaders put label for us. But things are changing. Keep stick to your colors & love & proud of being a Pakistani.

    Reply

  10. M. Fareed Arif
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 02:17:09

    Ahmed share it on Google+ / Facebook … So that more people get a chance to read it out…:)

    Reply

    • Ahmed Malik
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 00:14:17

      hey Fareed bhai.. yes i already shared it at google+ … but i don’t have an account at facebook 🙂 .. really appreciate your support. Stay Blessed 🙂

      Reply

  11. Mariam Hussien
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 14:36:23

    Well, one of my favourite quotes poped up in my mind while reading this, it says
    “Be who you are and say what you want , because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind”

    Talk and don’t ever bother did anyone listen or not, live you ideologies and don’t ever care does anyone respect or admire it or not. In the end you are a human being created by God hands and he has chosen you to be on the topper place than the angels. A passport color won’t change any of this 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

